Welcome to NAIT

Board of Directors

As a programme of OSPRI New Zealand, we are governed by a Board of Directors appointed by member organisations. The Board of Directors are fully accountable to the member organisations, and also have responsibilities to the Ministry for Primary Industries.

Barry Harris (Chair)

Barry Harris 2014

Barry is a company director with extensive governance and executive experience. Barry has held a number of chief executive roles, including with Environment Waikato, Greater Wellington Regional Council and Hamilton City Council. He was also a senior executive with Fonterra for five years. Barry is currently chairman of McFall Fuel and Wintec; and director of DairyNZ. Previous boards have included CentrePort; RD1; International Nutritionals; Hamilton Riverside Hotels; and Local Authority Shared Services. Barry has a Master of Agricultural Science (Honours) and lives in Hamilton.

Lesley Campbell

Lesley Campbell

Lesley has more than 20 years’ experience in the primary production sector. She brings vast experience in working with government agencies and ministers, and an ability to lead change and manage diverse and complex industry stakeholder interests. Lesley is currently the chief executive of Commercial Fisheries Services Limited (FishServe) and is also a director of FINNZ, a subsidiary consulting company of FishServe. Lesley’s areas of expertise include strategic and business planning, budgeting, cost recovery processes, policy development and preparation of legislation, and converting legislation into operational systems.

Mike Pohio

Mike Pohio

Mike is a Hamilton-based director. Mike currently holds directorships on the boards of Panuku Development Auckland, Kiwirail, NIWA and Te Atiawa Iwi Holdings. He is also Chairman of BNZ Partners, Waikato Region. His executive career includes CEO of Tainui Group Holdings (TGH) for eight years and senior executive roles for companies including Port of Tauranga, Fonterra, NZ Dairy Group and Elders Pastoral. His governance background includes six years as a shareholder and director of NZL Group Ltd, seven years on the Transpower Board and a Ministerial appointment to the University of Waikato Council. Mike holds an MBA from IMD, Lausanne and an FCA from the Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand.

Fenton Wilson

Fenton Wilson

Fenton is a Councillor of Hawke’s Bay Regional Council, and has represented the Wairoa constituency since 2009. Born in Waipukurau and educated in Frasertown, Wairoa and Hastings, Fenton has worked most of his life in the Wairoa district. He farms a 235ha sheep and beef property with his wife Sue and is Chairman of the Wairoa Community Development Trust, a trustee of Predator Free New Zealand and a Hawke’s Bay Regional Council councillor.

James Parsons

Board James Parsons

James farms sheep and beef in Dargaville, Northland and has extensive agri-business and rural sector leadership experience.

James is a director of Beef + Lamb Genetics, a trustee of the New Zealand Rural Leadership Trust which manages the Nuffield and Kellogg Scholarship programmes and is a 2008 Nuffield Farming Scholar himself. He is the majority shareholder and managing director of the family sheep and beef farming business Ashgrove Ltd which breeds and provides sheep genetics to clients around the North Island. James is also the former chairman of Beef + Lamb New Zealand and the New Zealand Meat Board and has held directorships in economic development, the veterinary sector and the electricity sector as a lines company and geothermal power company director.

His governance capacity is complimented by particular skills in strategy, stakeholder management, media and government relationships, yet brings practical farming perspectives to governance decisions.